I shall soon perish without being in bed by 9.30.

Hej, this is B :) I am Sofie's värdsyster from Straya (Australia). I've been here 2 1/2 and am going home in one week. I had always been interested in going on exchange, and my friend, who has just finished a 5 month exchange in Finland, practically filled out the application for me. And I can never thank her enough. Exchange has been amazing, and, trying not to be too cliched, but you learn SO much. You learn how to talk to people, and laugh at yourself, and even be a bit pushy if you need to (hint: your international student card can get you more discounts than you´d you). When I first came I thought Swedes were often very reserved, tacitern, and aloof. I still think this, but it´s something I´ve come to love. I hardly understand how, when Australians are almost always loud and friendly, but I have enjoyed the change. Everything here is different, the food, the school, language, but another thing you learn is that it´s not better or worse or less or more, it just different, and if it works, so be it.
Homesickness has not been a problem for me while I´ve been here, though coming in to my last week I find myself looking forward to see my friends, wear uniform to school, pet my dog, and have a reason to shave my legs. But I DO know I am going to miss playing cards with my Swedish class, wearing jeans to school, not having the chores that come with a dog, and not having to shave my legs. And the candy.... oh my goodness, don´t get me started on the candy. Apparently Sofie wants me to do another one, so, of course I´ll obligue. Until then :)   
 
The first snow. Sofie to the left and me to the right.
 
 

Kommentarer
Postat av: Louise

Hej! Precis, vi borde höra något snart. Som Ebba sa till mig: vi kanske får värdfamiljen med en gång för att de redan har accepterat oss och fixade familjer med en gång :) kram

Svar: Åh jag hoppas verkligen att är så men har dock försökt ställa mig in på att få familj några dagar innan avresa! Det är jättejobbigt att vänta och jag tänker på det varje dag. Hur känner du?

Idag fick jag även ett mail från Jonatan där han ville att jag skulle skicka in den nya vaccination informationen så det kanske händer något efter det!
Kram
Sofie None

2014-02-03 @ 16:18:43
URL: http://louiseintheus.blogg.se
Postat av: Louise

Ibland tänker jag att jag inte ska ha för stora förhoppningar att få värdfamilj tidigt och tänka att jag får det några dagar innan jag åker men det är så svårt när vissa redan har fått sina!

Jag håller tummarna för dig och hoppas att du blir accepterad efter det! Jag ska kolla med den som håller i get ready-mötet på lördag om det är något jag missat eller så!

Kram :)

Svar: Tror verkligen att det kommer gå super bra för dig men precis som du säger är det svårt att inte fundera!

Tack så jätte mycket! Och hur gick det förresten med engelska testet? Var det svårt?

Åhh jag är så taggad
Sofie None

2014-02-06 @ 16:48:15
URL: http://louiseintheus.blogg.se
Postat av: Louise

Hej!

Jag kunde tyvärr inte åka till Stockholm idag och göra testet så jag vet inte hur svårt det är :/ när ska du göra ditt? :) kram

Svar: Okej vad synd men vad tur att det är flera testtillfällen i Stockholm! :D
hm, jag har inte heller någon aning. Men tror inte det kommer vara alltför svår de brukar ju säga att skandinaver är duktiga på Engelska! Jag ska göra mitt på lördag här i Umeå, känns jättespännande!
Kram
Sofie None

2014-02-08 @ 22:26:51
URL: http://louiseintheus.blogg.se

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0